Monday, March 16, 2015

Luxarazzi 101: Burg Liechtenstein

Photo: Karl Gruber / Wikimedia Commons
Not many castles in this world can probably pride themselves in being the name giver of an entire country. A country that is about 500 kilometres beeline (that's about 310 miles) away at that. However, Burg Liechtenstein located in Maria Enzersdorf south of Vienna can boast such an unique characteristic. It first gave its name to the noble Liechtenstein family and through them to what today is known as the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Photo: Josef Moser /
Wikimedia Commons
Literally meaning "bright stone castle", the origins of Burg Liechtenstein lie in the 12th century. It was built around the year 1130 as an extensive castle complex and not as often described, a fortified tower featuring a chapel. Its builder was no other than Hugo von Petronell, progenitur of the Princely House of Liechtenstein who later took his name from the castle. A Roman chapel as well as some mostly heavily revised walls from the 12th century are still in existence.

Between the 13th and 15th centuries, the Burg was revised and expanded multiple times. The material was mostly taken from the Römersteinbruch stone pit in Sankt Margarethen im Burgenland famous for the lightness of the stones, hence the name Liechtenstein. During the second half of the 13th century the Liechtenstein family, however, lost possession of the castle based on inheritance and during the following centuries it went through many different hands until it came back into possession of the Liechtensteins, where it remains to this day.

In 1350, the castle was owned by the noble Wallsee family and in 1367, by Ulrich de Pair. In 1384. the Stadecks pledged Burg Liechtenstein to Counts Wilhelm and Hermann of Cilli. Until 1477 it was owned by Count Knight Hans of Holobarzy, when it fell into the hands of Matthias Corvinus, King of Hungary and Croatia. Later it was also owned at different points in time by Konrad Auer of Herrenkirchen, Holy Roman Emperor Matthias I, the Prüschenk brothers as well as Bartholomäus Freysleben before it was destroyed during the Siege of Vienna by the Ottoman Empire in 1529. Already in 1480, the Burg had been heavily damaged by the Ottomans.

Photo: Josef Moser /
Wikimedia Commons
After the end of the Siege, the remains of the castle were given back to the Freysleben family requiring them to rebuilt it. In 1569, it was owned by Baron Andreas of Pögl, then his brother-in-law Wilhelm of Hofkirchen as well as the Barons of Aichelberg. In 1592, Count Hans of Khevenhüller-Frankenstein received Burg Liechtenstein as a fiefdom. Like his other estates, the castle was administered by Georg Wiesing. Wiesing built a Meierhof, a farm or building occupied by the administrator (the Meier) of a noble or ecclesiastical estate, in place of today's Schloss Liechtenstein. In 1606, the castle was once again heavily damaged during yet another Siege of Vienna under the leadership of Stephan Bocskai. In 1613, the Khevenhüllers received the castle as an allod. However, it was once again destroyed during the Battle of Vienna in 1683.

In 1684, the noble Waffenberg family bought the ruins. In 1777, Baron Josef of Penkler became the owner of Burg Liechtenstein and while he made the castle accessible via staircases and aisles, he did not have the necessary money to carry out renovation works. 22 years after Penkler purchased the castle, he sold it to Prince Stanislaus of Poniantovsky. And in 1806, the castle finally came back into the possession of the family who had once taken its name from the Burg: It was Prince Johann I of Liechtenstein who purchased his family's ancestral home. In the following years, he had a nature park created around the ruined castle. He also commissioned a romantic restoration of the castle, which, however, was halted when architect Joseph Hartmuth died in 1816.

Photo: Karl Gruber / Wikimedia Commons
During the second half of the 19th century, Prince Johann II had Viennese architect Carl Gangolf Kayser rebuilt Burg Liechtenstein in accordance with the ideas of historism. After Kayser's death, his plans were finished by Humbert Walcher Knight of Moltheim and Egon Rheinberger. The works on the castle were finished in 1903.

Towards the end of the Second World War, the Burg was heavily damaged once again and the archives and furnishings looted by the Soviets. Some renovations works on the castle were carried out between 1949 and 1953. Between 1968 and 2007, Burg Liechtenstein was administered by the municipality of Maria Enzersdorf and used by the local boy scouts. As the municipality could not afford the necessary renovation works, the lease was ended in 2007 and the Prince Liechtenstein Foundation, which also owns many other Austrian properties of the Princely Family including the Stadtpalais, the Gartenpalais as well as the Sommerpalais, took over management.

For the following two years, the Burg was closed to the general public due to security concerns. In 2008 and 2009, the castle was renovated and given a new roof. In the spring of the following year, Burg Liechtenstein was once again opened to visitors.


  1. Namaste from a Beautiful Himalaya Nepal

    Nepal Base Camp Treks is government register agency (licensed trekking guide team) in the Nepalese Himalayas Ranges… After working 18 years (since 1997) on the tough trails for several years as a mountain staff crew, and working so hard to develop our fluency in English languages, We became a guide in the year 2000 to 2002. We have spent the past 18 years as a professional Himalaya trekking guide, working for several Trek & Expedition companies in Kathmandu; we have now decided to work as an independent guide and self leading to provide all our national and international clients, who like to enjoy their Himalaya trekking holidays tour with us (

    In the last 18 years working experiences, our team have become very well-known with many Trekking Destinations throughout the country, this includes: The Everest Base Camp Treks, Annapurna Regions and Langtang Valley Regions, As well as Upper Mustang Treks, Manaslu Circuit Treks, Annapurna Circuit Trek,Ganesh Himal Trek, Helambu and all non tourist regions. Our teams at Nepal Base Camp Treks have studied well the lay of the land & our knowledgeable about local flora and fauna, cultural history and environmental issues in the areas where we trek are absolutely sound today. Our guests truly appreciate our services. We are able to guide Trekkers hoping to climb high passes Chola, Renjo La, thorong La,Larke La, Kongma La and peaks, & can take them to show exclusive spots for any adventures across the Himalayas. Nepal Base Camp Treks experience also covers the well known peaks of Mera Peak climbing , Island Peak Climbing,Lobuje Peak Climbing, Phakchhermo Peak, Pisang Peak, Tent Peak Kalapathar Peak & Gokyo Peak, and we have led expeditions across many high passes in Nepal, covers some famous mountains: Manaslu Circuit Larke Pass, Ampu-lapcha Pass, Makalu sherpani col Pass, east col Pass, west col Pass, Chola Pass, Renjula Pass, Rolwaling Tashilapcha Pass, Ganjala Pass, Ganesh himal Pangsang Pass, Thorong Pass and Tilicho Pass…ON THE WAY, AFTER ALL THE TRIALS & HARDSHIPS…THE BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS…we are now an accomplished guide team who helps our guests unleash the best experiences ever in High Himalaya and Wild Adventures under their feet

    Treks come in many forms on Nepal's rugged Himalayas: ranging from the relaxed easy trekking where you can experience Nepalese Culture and Village life,Chitwan,Dhulekhel,Kathmandu Valley, Pokhara Ghale Gaun, to tea-house trekking in popular regions, Annapurna, Everest, Lantang, to unique treks into areas of Nepal that are off the beaten path and seldom visited by foreigners or remote non-touristic area Tawal Village, Chitwan Chepang Hill. All treks offer superb scenery and viewpoints into Nepal's exotic ancient culture. With our kind of experience, we can tailor your treks to meet your conveniences in any way that's comfortable to you.

    Nepal Base Camp Treks (Pvt. Ltd.)

    Post Box: 10114, Bhagwati Bahal Mark, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

    Telephone: + 977-1-4436088. Mobile: +977-9851111874



  2. Nepal Everest Base camp Treks' s heartily welcome to you. Nepal Everest Base Camp Treks Pvt. Ltd. was established as a successful result of decade’s long involvement and long experienced in Nepalese tourism industry. Having had experience of operating and leading wonderful adventure Trips in some of the most captivating vistas of Nepal Himalayas successfully. we have been providing service with interesting trekking packages. i.e. Everest Base camp trekking, Everest three pass trekking, Everest trekking, Annapurna base camp trekking, Annapurna circuit trekking, Annapurna ghorepani poon hill trekking, Ghorepani poon hill trekking, ghorepani ghandrunk trekking, khayera ridge trekking, Annapurna sanctuary trekking, Poon hill trekking, Annapurna Trekking, Manaslu trekking, Manaslu circuit trekking, Manaslu Tsum valley Trekking, Langtang valley Trekking,Langtang Tamang heritage Trekking,Langtang Gosainkunda pass Trekking,Helambu Trekking,Helambu cultural trekking,langtang Ganja la pass trekking,Upper mustang Trekking,Mustang Trekking,Jomsom muktinath trekking,Upper Dolpa Trekking, Ruby valley trekking,Ganesh himal trekking etc to several kind of recreation loving tourist destinations since 2005 however we are keen of promoting our company service therefore.

    Nepal Everest Base Camp Treks Pvt. Ltd.

    Saat Ghumti Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

    Mobile No:+977- 9841902116